Cavendish is back

April 27 th 2018 - 14:46

Mark Cavendish has chosen to bounce back in Yorkshire! After a heavy fall which has kept him away from the pack since Milan-San Remo, the currently active rider with the most Tour de France stage wins has programmed his return to competition in Yorkshire, the very same place where he experienced one of his cruellest disillusionments with a fall at the finish of the first stage on Le Tour in 2014 in Harrogate. Since then, the British sprinter has been unable to accept the invitations from the Tour de Yorkshire, but he will be in attendance this time with a team capable of setting him up for victory, accompanied his most faithful lieutenant, Mark Renshaw. Particularly primed for sprints, “Cav” will have to overcome finishers like Bryan Coquard, Magnus Cort Nielsen, Phil Bauhaus, Ben Swift or Adam Blythe.


However, on a route which could also be conducive to shows of strength from a long way out, the general classification could be pre-empted by an attacker able to open a gap at the summit finish at Cow and Calf rocks on the second stage. In this context, there are few who can rival with Olympic Champion Greg Van Avermaet, who missed his chance on his sole previous participation in 2015 (when he finished 7th), but who will be arriving with genuine objectives for victory. On this route, he will have to deal with competition from rivals such as Robert Kiserlovski, Stefan Denifl, Owain Doull or also Jonathan Hivert.



20 teams: the main participants



Cofidis, Solutions Crédits: Rossetto, Bonnafond, Mate

Direct Energie: Hivert, Chavanel

Vital Concept Cycling Club: Coquard, Reza



Team Sunweb: Bauhaus, Teunissen


Great Britain

Team Sky: Stannard, Doul, Van Baarle

Madison Genesis: C. Swift, Holmes

JLT Condor: Stewart, Bibby

One Pro Cycling: Oram, McCormick, Domagalski

Canyon Eisberg: Opie, H.Tanfield

Vitus Pro Cycling: Kanepejs, Amores

National team: B. Swift, Pidcock



Aqua Blue Sport: Blythe, Denifl, Warbasse

Holdsworth Pro Racing: Downing



Astana Pro Team: Nielsen, Minali



Roompot Oranje Peloton: Weening, Ligthart



Team Katusha-Alpecin: Kiserlovski, Hollenstein


South Africa

Team Dimension Data: Cavendish, Renshaw



Euskadi Basque Country-Murias: Barthe



BMC Racing Team: Van Avermaet, Wyss

Rally Cycling: Ellsay, Young

Follow us

Get exclusive information about The Tour de Yorkshire

By browsing this site, you accept the use of Cookies in order to offer to you an advertising tailored to your interests, and to perform traffic statistics.

To find out more